Ignite Me

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

I really wanted to like The Shatter Me series more than I did. It did keep me reading, but there were so many places where I think the concept was underutilized. But the biggest problem for me was the characters. I didn’t find Juliette as annoying as some people did, but man there was a lot of jawing in this book. So. Much. Talking. In. Circles. And I never liked Warner so I was not on board with any sort of Juliette/Warner pairing. I was all aboard the Juliette/Adam train and I am really starting to dislike it when authors give us one pairing and make us fall in love with that and then rip it away and make at least one of characters out to be a terrible person.


This happened in Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire. I was originally not happy with the tearing apart of Chaol and Aelin, but I ended up liking her with Rowan in the end. I did not feel that way about Ignite Me. I will never be on board the Juliette/Warner train no matter how many explanations were given. Maybe if he wasn’t such a creep to begin with. Or if he didn’t always call her “love”. But probably not even then.

In the Throne of Glass series, Chaol is given the opportunity to recover and be less of a sucky character. Adam is sadly not given much of the same opportunity in Ignite Me and man, he says some really terrible things to Juliette.


So. Tahereh Mafi recently announced there will be more books in the Shatter Me series. It’s interesting. Does anyone know if she and her husband, Ransom Riggs, are repped by the same agent and/or publisher? Because the exact same thing happened with The Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children series. A trilogy was promised and a trilogy was written. And then we were gifted the promise of a new trilogy in a series that had supposedly ended. So a total of six books for each series.

I’m not sure if I’ll keep reading this series. Maybe. Depends if there’s more Kenji or not. Because Kenji was by far the best character in this series and if anyone deserves their own series, it’s Kenji.

Also, a Shatter Me tv series is in the works. Not sure how I feel about that either. There aren’t many details yet so I’ll probably wait for a trailer at least to decide if I’m going to watch or not.


One thought on “Ignite Me

  1. Also read Project Eden series (7books). Don’t think you’ll be disappointed

    Sent from my Windows Phone

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s