The Last Star

By Rick Yancey

The enemy is Other. The enemy is us.

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.

16131489

I was so excited to read the conclusion to The 5th Wave series! This has been a great series, one full of action, deep questions, and wonderful writing.

I enjoyed the end to the series, even if it was a bit sad. I didn’t cry this time though. I suppose I’ve been ready for it since the beginning. I was home sick so I read this book in a day and what a great day that was!

It wouldn’t be a review of The 5th Wave Series without some quotes and since I don’t want to spoil this book at all, I’ll leave you with this one:

“You’re never perfectly safe. No human being on Earth ever is or ever was. To live is to risk your life, your heart, everything.”

 

The Infinite Sea

By Rick Yancey

How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.

Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.

16131484

As soon as I finished reading The 5th Wave, I started the sequel, The Infinite Sea.

While this book was as beautiful, moving, and action-packed as the others, we got to meet new point of view characters, like Ringer. Though I missed hearing as much from Cassie. And I don’t think Ben had any point of view parts this time around.

We got to learn even more about what the aliens want and why they’ve done what they’ve done, while simultaneously raising even more questions.

“Why not just throw a very big rock?”

Why not indeed. I wish I could tell you that The Infinite Sea answers this question, but it doesn’t and so we go onward to The Last Star.

Here’s a few great quotes from The Infinite Sea:

“The world ended once. It will end again. The world ends, then the world comes back. The world always comes back.”

“Some things, down to the smallest of things, are worth the sum of all things.”

“No hope without faith, no faith without hope, no love without trust, no trust without love. Remove one and the entire human house of cards collapses.”

“The world is a clock and the clock winds down, and their coming had nothing to do with that. The world has always been a clock. Even the stars will wink out one by one and there will be no light or heat, and this is the war, the endless, futile war against the lightless, heatless void rushing toward us.”

The 5th Wave

By Rick Yancey

16101128

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother–or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

I’m almost a broken record at this point…. Book sat on my shelf forever, never started, then I did, and Holy Crap I Loved It!

You can go home now.

Just kidding. I actually did write a review.

Enter Cassie, last woman on Earth. Or so it would seem. Cassie on an impossible journey to keep an impossible promise. A promise that is the only thing that matters as trust has eroded in the wake of a faceless enemy.

Damn, talk about a dark book. Dark, dark, dark. Nothing like an alien apocalypse to make you feel hopeless.

There are other narrators too, but Cassie was my favorite. I can’t talk much about the others without spoiling anything. But Cassie was awesome. Ass-kicking all the way through, in the tradition of Katniss or Triss.

Action packed from start to finish. There were some wonderful, wonderful lines in this book. Quotes like:

“How do you rid the Earth of humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.”

“Because we will die, but at least we will die unbroken.”

“I thought I knew what loneliness was before he found me, but I had no clue. You don’t know what real loneliness is until you’ve known the opposite.”

“But if I’m it, the last of my kind, the last page of human history, like hell I’m going to let the story end this way. I may be the last one, but I am the one still standing. I am the one turning to face the faceless hunter in the woods on an abandoned highway. I am the one not running but facing. Because if I am the last one, then I am humanity. And if this is humanity’s last war, then I am the battlefield.”

“The minute we decide that one person doesn´t matter anymore, they´ve won.”

“Do you know how to tell who the enemy is, Cassie?”

This book also brought Robert Frost’s poem, Fire and Ice, to my mind:

Some say the world will end in fire,
Some say in ice.
From what I’ve tasted of desire
I hold with those who favor fire.
But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To say that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.

I have the second book, The Infinite Wave, on my shelf, which I may start right away. The 5th Wave movie is due in theaters soon and the third book in the trilogy is coming out this spring.

While I may have waited forever to start this series, it seems like now is a great time to become a fan of The 5th Wave series.

Here is the trailer for The 5th Wave movie: